Thursday, August 16, 2018




The Galeton Area School Board is seeking community member

interest from Region I to fill a vacancy on the Board from now until the next municipal election, November 2019.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS: a citizen of Pennsylvania, current

resident for at least one year of Region I of the District (Galeton Second Ward), of good moral character, and at least 18 years old.

     An individual may be ineligible to run for/hold the office of school director subject to state/federal laws. Following are some of the applicable laws, others laws may also determine eligibility.

  • The PA Constitution bars from elective office anyone convicted of an "infamous" crime, which the courts have interpreted to include various misdemeanors based on the nature of the crime and all felonies.
  • Section 324 of the PA School Code prohibits school directors from being employed by, or doing business with, the district where they are elected or appointed, subject to certain exceptions.
  • Section 322 of the School Code contains a list of municipal offices that are incompatible with holding the office of school director. County, borough and township codes also contain their own restrictions for holding offices concurrently.

To apply, submit a letter of interest and PA Statement of Financial Interests Form SEC-1 (PA State Ethics Commission:

9044) to Penny Crowell, Board Secretary, Galeton Area School District, 27 Bridge Street, Galeton, PA 16922 by 3:00 PM, January 5, 2018. Questions may be directed to Mrs. Crowell at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., 814-435-6571.



 2018 School Board Members

 Region I Galeton Second Ward
Beth Fuller - 2021
Dr. Mary Geiter - 2019
______________ - vacancy

Region II Galeton First Ward, Gaines Township, Elk Township

Julie Lane, Treasurer - 2019
Charles Tameris - 2019
Bonita Stover, President - 2021

Region III Abbott Township, Hector Township, Pike Township, West Branch

Charles Bach, Vice President - 2021
Richard Yonkin, Sr. - 2019
Tony Cimino - 2019
*Alanna R. Huck, Superintendent
*Penny Crowell, Board Secretary
* non-voting member



Athletics Text